Tel: +44 (0) 28 7962 8113 | E-Mail:

New Members

It is now more than 30 years since a small group of individuals in Draperstown encouraged some one hundred and seventy members of the local community to invest funds in a project to buy the former shirt factory building on the Tobermore Road and convert it into units for businesses in the hope that this would help the local economic situation and reduce unemployment.

Thirty years on that initial project has grown and developed into what is a very successful approach to local community and economic development in The Workspace Group.  Our membership is also thirty years older than what it was back in 1985.

What we want to do now is to ensure that our membership continues going forward and that our members have an opportunity to play a real part in guiding and directing the work of Workspace over the next 30 years – hence we are looking to add to our membership and in particular are looking for the next generation of members from in and around Draperstown who want to ensure that Workspace continues to undertake the much needed community and economic development work that it does for the long term.

How do I become a Workspace Member?

You become a member by buying a small amount of loan stock (the minimum is £50 and the maximum is £2,000) in Workspace.  Each year the loan generates an interest payment for the member.  The interest earned is paid out to members every few years.  Every year the member is invited to our Annual General Meeting, is sent a copy of our Annual Report and may be asked to participate in some other way to help Workspace achieve what is best for the local community.

If you would like to become a member of Workspace simply complete an application form and return it with a cheque for the loan stock amount you would like to buy (from £50 to £2,000) to the Workspace office or to any of the Workspace Directors below.

Download application form

For more information call 028 7962 8113 or email

Current Workspace Directors

  • Mr Laurence O’Kane (Chairman)
  • Mrs Sam McCloskey
  • Dr Michael McAllister
  • Mr Damian Heron
  • Mr Graham Mawhinney
  • Mr Patsy McShane
  • Mr Willie McKeown
  • Mrs Catherine McCoy
  • Councillor Brian McGuigan
New Members